Skip to content
VALVE&VINYL

The Best All-in-One DAC, Preamp and Headphone Amps

Three jobs, one chassis. The DAC job is solved on every box here; what separates them is whether the line output level is under your control, and how many volts comes out of it.

By Stephen V.Published Last verified
A desktop DAC and preamplifier with a large volume knob, headphone jack and rear line outputs

Disclosure: we earn a commission if you buy through the links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It does not influence what we pick — our criteria are published and reproducible, so you can check our work. How we pick · Full disclosure

These picks are spec-and-price analyses, not listening tests. We have not heard this gear and we do not pretend to have: every figure below is sourced to the manufacturer and linked, and every price is live or not shown at all. Here are the rules we followed.

Quick picks

Ranked on the published criteria in How We Pick. Prices are live as of August 31, 2026. Tap any row for the full write-up.

“All-in-one” is doing three separate jobs, and only one of them is hard to get wrong. Every box on this page converts digital to analog well past the point of audibility. What actually varies — enormously — is whether it can act as the volume control for the rest of your system, and whether anything other than a computer can plug into it.

If what you want is a headphone amplifier that happens to have a converter in it, you are on the wrong page and we would rather say so now: our DAC and amp combos page ranks the same category on published milliwatts into 32 and 300 ohms, which is the right axis for that question. This page ranks on the preamp job, because the queries that brought most people here — “all in one DAC preamp headphone amp”, “DAC with preamp and headphone amp” — are asking whether one chassis can replace three.

The three-job test, and where boxes fail it

A preamplifier does two things a DAC does not. It selects between sources, and it sets the level going to a power amplifier or a pair of active speakers. A DAC with a socket on the back is not a preamp; a DAC whose output level you can change is.

So the test we applied, in order:

  1. Can anything besides a computer plug into it? A box with one USB input is a sound card in a nice case. A preamp needs sources.
  2. Is the line output level under your control, and does the manufacturer say so in writing? Not “it has a knob” — many of these knobs only affect the headphone jack.
  3. How many volts does that output make? This is the number nobody compares and it varies by nearly a factor of two across this page.
  4. Is headphone power published at more than one impedance, with a distortion condition? One figure at 32 ohms tells you almost nothing.

Notice what is not on that list: the DAC chip. Two boxes here use ESS converters, one uses AKM, one uses a discrete resistor ladder, and one uses a converter whose maker will not name the part. On published distortion figures, four of the six are already an order of magnitude beyond what a room and a pair of ears can resolve. The chip is a specification, not a decision.

Criterion one: what can actually plug into it

This is where the field separates immediately, and it separates on a feature that costs almost nothing to include: an analog input.

UnitDigital inputsAnalog inputLine/pre outputs
FiiO K9 Pro ESSUSB-B, USB-C, coaxial, optical, BluetoothYes — RCA and 4.4 mm balancedRCA and XLR3
Cambridge DacMagic 200MUSB, coaxial, optical, BluetoothNoRCA and XLR
FiiO K7USB-B, coaxial, opticalYes — RCA line inRCA
WiiM UltraHDMI ARC, optical, USB storage, network, BluetoothYes — RCA line in and a phono inputRCA, plus a subwoofer output
FiiO K11 R2RUSB-C, coaxial, opticalNoRCA
iFi ZEN DAC 3USB-C onlyNoRCA and 4.4 mm

Three of the six cannot take an analog source at all. That is fine if every source you own is digital, and disqualifying the moment you own a turntable, a cassette deck or a CD player with only analog outputs. It is the single most common way people buy the wrong box in this category: the product is called a preamp, and then the phono stage they already own has nowhere to go.

The WiiM Ultra is the outlier in the other direction — it has a phono input built in, so a turntable connects without a separate stage at all. We rank it fourth anyway, and the reason is in its own write-up below: WiiM publishes no gain figure, no RIAA accuracy and no input capacitance for that phono stage, so there is no way to judge it. Our phono preamp guide explains what those numbers do.

Criterion two: is the output actually variable?

A volume knob on the front does not mean the sockets on the back are variable. On several desktop DACs the knob controls the headphone output only, and the line output stays at a fixed level — which is correct behavior when you are feeding an integrated amplifier, and useless when you are feeding a power amplifier that has no volume control of its own.

Here is what each maker publishes, in their own words:

  • Cambridge DacMagic 200M— the specification lists max output level as “2.1V rms (fixed or variable – user selectable)” unbalanced and “4.2V rms (fixed or variable – user selectable)” balanced. Both output pairs, stated in the spec table itself. That is the clearest published answer on this page.
  • FiiO K9 Pro ESS— an OUTPUT switch selects HP or PRE. FiiO’s own support article states that in PRE the output moves to the rear panel and the volume knob adjusts it, and that in HP the front panel is live instead. The two are exclusive: in PRE mode the headphone sockets are silent.
  • FiiO K11 R2R — PO, PRE and LO modes, switched by double-pressing the knob, each remembering its own volume. LO is the fixed line output, PRE is the variable one.
  • FiiO K7 — headphone, speaker (preamp) and pure DAC modes. Pure DAC takes the volume control out of the path entirely, which is what an integrated amplifier wants.
  • iFi ZEN DAC 3 — a variable/fixed switch on the rear, covering the RCA and 4.4 mm line outputs.
  • WiiM Ultra — the line output level is set from the touchscreen or the app, and there is a fixed mode for feeding an amplifier with its own volume control.

All six pass this criterion, which is worth saying plainly rather than implying a failure that is not there. The differences are in how: a physical switch you can find in the dark, versus a menu, versus a phone.

Criterion three: volts, and the +6 dB trap

Output voltage is the specification that decides whether a preamp can drive a power amplifier to full output, and it is almost never compared. The published figures on this page run from 2.1 V rms to 5 V rms — and both boxes that have balanced outputs publish exactly double their unbalanced figure.

Balanced output vs unbalanced, in decibels

dB = 20 × log₁₀(V_balanced ÷ V_unbalanced)

Inputs

Result

20 × log₁₀(5 ÷ 2.5) = +6.02 dB

20 × log₁₀(4.2 ÷ 2.1) = +6.02 dB

Both boxes’ balanced outputs are exactly 6 dB louder than their unbalanced ones, because balanced output is two inverted copies of the same signal and the receiving end sees the difference between them.

This is why casual XLR-versus-RCA comparisons almost always favor XLR. Six decibels is a large, obvious loudness difference — far larger than any difference in distortion between the two paths, which on the K9 Pro ESS is 0.00025% against 0.00033%. Unless you match levels before you switch, you are auditioning volume. The real reasons to run balanced are common-mode noise rejection over a long cable and having the headroom to drive an insensitive power amplifier, not that it sounds better on a quick A/B.

The practical consequence: if your power amplifier or your active speakers need a strong signal, the K9 Pro ESS’s 5 V and the DacMagic’s 4.2 V give you room the 2.1 V boxes do not. If they do not, extra voltage is not a feature — it just means you will run the volume control lower, which is its own problem when the volume control is in the digital domain. Our DAC versus preamp page covers that trade-off in more detail than this page has room for.

Criterion four: the headphone half, honestly

You are buying a headphone amplifier whether you use it or not, so it should at least be specified. Four of the six publish power at three impedances with a distortion condition attached. The other two do not, and that shows up in the ranking.

UnitInto 32 ΩInto 300 ΩCondition stated?
FiiO K9 Pro ESS (balanced)≥ 2.1 W≥ 1.1 WYes — THD+N < 1%
FiiO K7 (balanced)≥ 2,000 mW≥ 140 mW (single-ended)Yes — THD+N < 1%
FiiO K11 R2R (balanced)≥ 1,300 mW≥ 220 mWYes — THD+N < 1%
Cambridge DacMagic 200M> 300 mWNot publishedYes — at 100 mW into 32 Ω
iFi ZEN DAC 3> 210 mW (single-ended)> 18 mW at 600 ΩNot stated
WiiM UltraNot published in mWNot published in mWn/a

The DacMagic’s two published points are more informative than they look, because they are both the same voltage.

What Cambridge's two headphone figures have in common

V = √(P × R)

Inputs

Result

√(0.300 × 32) = 3.10 V

√(0.065 × 150) = 3.12 V

Both of Cambridge’s published figures correspond to the same output swing of roughly 3.1 volts. This amplifier is voltage-limited, not current-limited: it runs out of volts before it runs out of drive, so power falls in proportion to impedance.

That is a conclusion about the two figures Cambridge publishes, not a prediction of a third. Cambridge recommends headphones up to 600 Ω and publishes no power figure above 150 Ω, and we are not going to invent one — an amplifier can behave differently at the ends of its range, and only a measurement would settle it. The honest summary is that a 300 or 600 Ω headphone buyer has no published number to work from here, which is a real gap on an otherwise well-specified product.

If headphones are the main event rather than a bonus, our impedance and power guide walks through what your own pair actually needs. The short version: an amplifier’s power into 32 ohms tells you very little about how it drives a 300 ohm pair, and more power is not automatically safer — a sensitive in-ear on a two-watt output lives in the first few degrees of the volume control, where channel balance and noise are at their worst.

The R2R exception, and why it is ranked fifth

The FiiO K11 R2R uses a discrete resistor ladder rather than a delta-sigma chip: four channels, 192 thin-film resistors at 0.1% tolerance. It is an unusual thing to find at this price and it is genuinely interesting engineering.

It also measures far worse, and FiiO says so. The published line-out distortion is “About 0.025%” — the word “About” is FiiO’s, not ours — against < 0.00025% for the K9 Pro ESS balanced output. That is roughly a hundredfold difference in published THD+N.

We are not going to tell you that makes it sound worse, because we have not measured or listened to either and we do not publish verdicts we have not earned. What we will say is that if the reason you are buying a converter is measured transparency, this is the one product here that trades it away deliberately, and you should know that before you buy rather than after. It stays on the page because its PRE mode, its 2.7 V line output and its published headphone power at three impedances all clear our criteria — and because a maker that publishes an unflattering number is telling you something useful about itself.

What nobody on this page publishes

Three gaps are worth naming, because they are the questions we could not answer from manufacturer documents and would not answer from anywhere else:

  • Volume control implementation. Only FiiO names the part on the K9 Pro ESS (NJU72315 volume ICs). Whether the others attenuate in the digital domain — and therefore lose resolution at low settings — is not stated by anyone.
  • Output impedance, on five of six.Cambridge publishes < 50 Ω unbalanced and < 100 Ω balanced. Nobody else publishes a line output impedance at all, which is the figure that decides whether a long interconnect into a low-impedance amplifier input will roll off the treble.
  • The WiiM Ultra’s headphone output, in watts. WiiM publishes the amplifier chip, an SNR of 119 dB and a THD+N that degrades from −99 dB into 300 Ω to −92 dB into 32 Ω — everything except the one number a headphone buyer needs.

How we would choose

If it has to replace a preamp and you own anything analog, the FiiO K9 Pro ESS. It is the only box here that takes an analog source, publishes 5 V from a balanced pre-out, gives the volume knob to the rear panel with a physical switch, and specifies headphone power at three impedances. It is also the largest and most expensive, and that is the trade.

If it lives in a hi-fi rackand every source is digital, the DacMagic 200M. Cambridge’s specification is the most explicit about the thing that matters — both output pairs are user-selectable fixed or variable — and the build is a component rather than a desk accessory. Just do not buy it as a headphone amplifier first.

If it lives on a desk, the FiiO K7. It has the analog input the cheaper boxes lack, the pure DAC mode for feeding an integrated amplifier, and the most headphone power per dollar on the page.

If it also has to stream, the WiiM Ultra — with both caveats intact: no published headphone power, and no published specification for the phono stage that is the main reason to choose it over a cheaper streamer.

If the budget is tight, the K11 R2R for the feature set and the ladder DAC, or the ZEN DAC 3 if a single USB cable is the entire installation and you will never need a second input.

Every pick in detail

Every specification below links to the manufacturer document we read it from. Where a manufacturer does not publish a figure, we say so rather than estimating it.

1.

FiiO K9 Pro ESS

Best all-in-one overall
FiiO K9 Pro ESS
$449.99View on Amazon

Price as of August 31, 2026. #ad

The only box here that takes an analog source, publishes 5 volts from a balanced pre-out and still has a headphone amplifier rated at three separate impedances.

8.9/10
measured specs
10/10
inputs
10/10
value for money
7/10
build quality
9/10
features
9/10
Published specifications for the FiiO K9 Pro ESS, each linked to the manufacturer document we read it from.
SpecificationPublished valueSource
ChipsetDAC: 2 × ES9038PRO; USB: XMOS XUF208; Bluetooth: QCC5124; amp: 2 × THX AAA 788+; low-pass: 2 × OPA1612; volume: 2 × NJU72315FiiO parameters page
InputsUSB Type-B and Type-C, coaxial, optical, Bluetooth, and analog line in on RCA and 4.4 mm balancedFiiO product page
OutputsHeadphone: 6.35 mm, 4.4 mm balanced, XLR4 balanced. Line/pre: RCA and XLR3 balancedFiiO product page
Max sample rateUSB: 384 kHz/32-bit, DSD256; coaxial: 192 kHz/24-bit; optical: 96 kHz/24-bitFiiO parameters page
Headphone power6.35 mm: ≥ 1.1 W (16 Ω), ≥ 2.1 W (32 Ω), ≥ 281 mW (300 Ω). Balanced 4.4 mm / XLR4: ≥ 1.1 W (16 Ω), ≥ 2.1 W (32 Ω), ≥ 1.1 W (300 Ω). All at THD+N < 1%FiiO parameters page
Line/pre output levelRCA 2.5 Vrms; XLR 5 Vrms (1 kHz / 10 kΩ)FiiO parameters page
Output mode switchOUTPUT selects HP (front-panel headphones) or PRE (rear-panel line/pre out); FiiO states the volume knob adjusts level in both positionsFiiO support article
Gain switchThree positions H/M/L, corresponding to −3 dB / 6 dB / 16 dBFiiO support article
THD+NBalanced line out < 0.00025% (1 kHz/10 kΩ, A-weighted); 6.35 mm headphone out < 0.00033% (1 kHz/32 Ω, A-weighted)FiiO parameters page
Signal-to-noise≥ 128 dB balanced line out; ≥ 129 dB on the 6.35 mm output (A-weighted)FiiO parameters page
Bluetooth5.0 — SBC, AAC, aptX, aptX LL, aptX HD, aptX Adaptive, LDACFiiO parameters page

Pros

  • Analog line in on RCA and 4.4 mm balanced, so a phono stage or CD player can join the digital sources
  • RCA and XLR3 line/pre outputs, published at 2.5 Vrms and 5 Vrms
  • An OUTPUT switch that hands the volume knob to the rear panel — the thing that makes it a preamp rather than a DAC with a socket
  • Headphone power published at 16, 32 and 300 Ω with a THD+N condition on every figure

Cons

  • Physically large and heavy for a desk — this is a rack-sized component
  • Optical input caps at 96 kHz/24-bit while USB reaches 384 kHz, so the TV input is the weakest one
  • Bluetooth is 5.0, a generation behind the current chipsets
  • The most expensive route to a job the K11 R2R does for a third of the money

Skip it if your only source is a computer. Half of what you are paying for is inputs you would never connect.

2.

Cambridge Audio DacMagic 200M

Best for a hi-fi rack
Cambridge Audio DacMagic 200M
$399.00View on Amazon

$499.0020% off

Price as of August 31, 2026. #ad

The one built like a hi-fi component rather than a desk accessory, and the one whose specification says in plain words that both output pairs are user-selectable fixed or variable.

8.0/10
measured specs
8/10
inputs
6/10
value for money
7/10
build quality
9/10
features
8/10
Published specifications for the Cambridge Audio DacMagic 200M, each linked to the manufacturer document we read it from.
SpecificationPublished valueSource
DAC chipsDual ESS ES9028Q2MCambridge Audio spec page
InputsUSB, coaxial, optical, Bluetooth aptX. No analog inputCambridge Audio spec page
OutputsBalanced XLR and unbalanced RCA, plus a 6.3 mm headphone jackCambridge Audio spec page
Max output level2.1 V rms unbalanced and 4.2 V rms balanced, each “fixed or variable – user selectable”Cambridge Audio spec page
Output impedance< 50 Ω unbalanced, < 100 Ω balancedCambridge Audio spec page
Sample ratesUSB 44.1–768 kHz PCM, native DSD 64×–512×, DoP 64×–256×; coaxial 44.1–192 kHz PCM, DoP64; optical 44.1–96 kHz PCM, DoP64Cambridge Audio spec page
Word widths16-bit over Bluetooth; 16–24-bit over optical, coaxial and USBCambridge Audio spec page
THD+N< 0.0005% at 1 kHz 0 dBFS (A-weighted)Cambridge Audio spec page
Signal-to-noise> 115 dB (A-weighted)Cambridge Audio spec page
Crosstalk< −110 dB at 10 kHzCambridge Audio spec page
Frequency response10 Hz – 50 kHz (±1 dB)Cambridge Audio spec page
Headphone output> 300 mW into 32 Ω, > 65 mW into 150 Ω; THD+N < 0.001% at 100 mW into 32 Ω; recommended headphone impedance 10 Ω – 600 ΩCambridge Audio spec page
MQAFull decoding (Core + Renderer)Cambridge Audio spec page
Bluetoothv4.2, A2DP profile, SBC and aptX codecsCambridge Audio spec page
Headphone output power into 300 Ω or 600 ΩNot published

Pros

  • Cambridge publishes “fixed or variable – user selectable” for the RCA and the XLR outputs, not just one of them
  • 4.2 V rms balanced is the highest published output voltage here after the K9 Pro ESS
  • Three selectable digital filters, published by name
  • Full MQA decoding (Core plus Renderer), which nothing else on this page has

Cons

  • No analog input at all — a turntable or a CD player cannot connect
  • Headphone power is published at 32 Ω and 150 Ω only, despite Cambridge recommending headphones up to 600 Ω
  • Bluetooth is v4.2 and capped at 16-bit, so the wireless input is the lowest-resolution one on the box
  • Optical caps at 96 kHz where USB reaches 768 kHz

Skip it if you need a headphone amplifier first and a preamp second. 300 mW into 32 Ω is a seventh of what the K9 Pro ESS publishes.

3.

FiiO K7

Best DAC and headphone amp combo
FiiO K7
$219.99View on Amazon

Price as of August 31, 2026. #ad

A DAC with a genuinely powerful balanced headphone amplifier attached, which is the reason to choose it over a DAC-only box.

8.8/10
measured specs
9/10
inputs
8/10
value for money
9/10
build quality
9/10
features
9/10
Published specifications for the FiiO K7, each linked to the manufacturer document we read it from.
SpecificationPublished valueSource
ChipsetDAC: 2 × AK4493S; USB: XMOS XUF208; amp: 2 × THX AAA 788+FiiO parameters page
Max sample rateUSB: PCM 384 kHz/32-bit, DSD256; coaxial: 192 kHz/24-bit; optical: 96 kHz/24-bitFiiO parameters page
InputsUSB-B, line in (RCA), optical, coaxialFiiO parameters page
OutputsLine out (RCA), 4.4 mm balanced headphone, 6.35 mm single-ended headphoneFiiO parameters page
Headphone power6.35 mm: ≥ 1,220 mW + 1,220 mW (32 Ω); ≥ 140 mW + 140 mW (300 Ω). 4.4 mm balanced: ≥ 2,000 mW + 2,000 mW (32 Ω). All at THD+N < 1%FiiO parameters page
THD+NLine out: < 0.0005% (1 kHz/10 kΩ)FiiO parameters page
Signal-to-noiseLine out ≥ 116 dB (A-weighted)FiiO parameters page
Output modesSwitchable between headphone, speaker (preamp) and pure DACFiiO product page

Pros

  • Powerful balanced headphone output, not a token one
  • Gain switching for sensitive and demanding headphones
  • Line out for a separate amplifier

Cons

  • Larger than a DAC-only box
  • You pay for the headphone amp whether you use it or not
  • External power brick

Skip it if you never use headphones — the Modi 5 or E30 II is cheaper and smaller.

4.

WiiM Ultra

Best for a turntable and a streamer in one box
WiiM Ultra
$349.00View on Amazon

Price as of August 31, 2026. #ad

The only streamer here with a phono input and a touchscreen — and the only one whose maker publishes nothing at all about how that phono stage performs.

8.4/10
measured performance
9/10
connectivity
10/10
features
10/10
value for money
7/10
published data
6/10
Published specifications for the WiiM Ultra, each linked to the manufacturer document we read it from.
SpecificationPublished valueSource
DACESS ES9038 Q2MWiiM spec page
Analog out SNR121 dB (A-weighted)WiiM spec page
Analog out THD+N−116 dB (0.00015%)WiiM spec page
Line-out level2.1 Vrms maximumWiiM spec page
Headphone amplifierTI TPA6120A2 — SNR 119 dB, THD+N −99 dB into 300 Ω falling to −92 dB into 32 ΩWiiM spec page
Phono inputYes — a dedicated input for turntables without a built-in preampWiiM spec page
Other inputsHDMI ARC (PCM and Dolby Digital 5.1) · optical TOSLINK to 192 kHz/24-bit · RCA line-in · USB storageWiiM spec page
OutputsRCA line-out · subwoofer out · coaxial and optical S/PDIF (192 kHz/24-bit) · USB audio out (UAC 2.0, 192 kHz/24-bit) · 3.5 mm headphoneWiiM spec page
NetworkWi-Fi 6 (WiiM states a future Wi-Fi 6E software update) · Bluetooth 5.3 · EthernetWiiM spec page
ProtocolsSpotify Connect, TIDAL Connect, Google Cast Audio, Alexa built-in, DLNA, Squeezelite, Roon ReadyWiiM spec page
Display3.5 in glass-covered color touchscreenWiiM spec page
Dimensions / weight211 × 200 × 72 mm; 1.42 kg (3.13 lb)WiiM spec page
Phono stage gain, RIAA accuracy, input capacitance or MC supportNot published

Pros

  • A dedicated phono input, which no other streamer on this page has
  • ESS ES9038 Q2M with a published 121 dB SNR and −116 dB THD+N, the best analog figures here
  • 3.5 in touchscreen, so it is usable without reaching for a phone
  • HDMI ARC, subwoofer out, headphone amp and USB audio out — it can be the hub of a whole system

Cons

  • WiiM publishes NO gain, RIAA accuracy, input capacitance or MC capability for the phono stage — the single feature that justifies the price step
  • Meaningfully larger and heavier than the Pro Plus for the same core streaming function
  • The headphone amp's THD+N degrades from −99 dB into 300 Ω to −92 dB into 32 Ω, so low-impedance headphones get the worse figure
  • Wi-Fi 6E is promised via a future software update rather than shipping today

Skip it if you already own a phono stage you like. Without that feature this is a Pro Plus with a screen, at a considerable premium.

5.

FiiO K11 R2R

Cheapest with a real preamp mode
FiiO K11 R2R
$175.99View on Amazon

Price as of August 31, 2026. #ad

A discrete ladder DAC with a genuine PRE mode at the bottom of the price range — and published distortion roughly fifty times higher than the delta-sigma boxes beside it.

7.4/10
measured specs
6/10
inputs
6/10
value for money
9/10
build quality
7/10
features
8/10
Published specifications for the FiiO K11 R2R, each linked to the manufacturer document we read it from.
SpecificationPublished valueSource
ChipsetFiiO-developed discrete R2R ladder DAC; SoC: GD32F303RE; USB: SA9312L; amp: 2 × SGM8262-2FiiO parameters page
R2R arrayFour-channel fully differential 24-bit ladder — two 48-resistor thin-film arrays per channel, 192 resistors at 0.1% tolerance and 30 ppm temperature driftFiiO product page
InputsUSB Type-C, optical, coaxialFiiO parameters page
OutputsHeadphone 6.35 mm and 4.4 mm balanced; RCA line out; coaxial out (USB mode only)FiiO parameters page
Max sample rate384 kHz/32-bit, DSD256 over USBFiiO parameters page
Headphone power6.35 mm (OS mode): ≥ 660 mW (16 Ω), ≥ 460 mW (32 Ω), ≥ 50 mW (300 Ω). 4.4 mm balanced (OS): ≥ 520 mW (16 Ω), ≥ 1,300 mW (32 Ω), ≥ 220 mW (300 Ω). All at THD+N < 1%FiiO parameters page
Line output level2.7 VrmsFiiO parameters page
Output modesPO / PRE (LO SE) / LO, switched by double-pressing the knob; each mode remembers its own volume settingFiiO product page
THD+N“About 0.025% (1kHz/0dB@10KΩ)” on the RCA line out in OS mode — FiiO's own wording, including the word “About”FiiO parameters page
Signal-to-noise≥ 115 dB (A-weighted), RCA line out in OS modeFiiO parameters page
GainThree gain levels with three independent volume curvesFiiO product page

Pros

  • PO / PRE / LO switching by double-pressing the knob, each mode remembering its own volume
  • 2.7 Vrms line output — more voltage than the DacMagic 200M's unbalanced 2.1 V
  • Headphone power published at 16, 32 and 300 Ω on both outputs, with a THD+N condition
  • A discrete 192-resistor R2R ladder at a price where discrete anything is unusual

Cons

  • FiiO publishes THD+N of “About 0.025%” — around fifty times the figure of the delta-sigma DACs on this page, and the word “About” is theirs
  • No analog input, so it cannot take a phono stage or a CD player
  • No balanced line output — the 4.4 mm socket is a headphone output, not a pre-out
  • Line-out SNR of ≥ 115 dB is the lowest published figure here

Skip it if you want the lowest distortion your money can buy. On published numbers a delta-sigma converter wins by a wide margin, and this one costs you that on purpose.

6.

iFi ZEN DAC 3

Best USB-powered option
iFi ZEN DAC 3
$229.00View on Amazon

Price as of August 31, 2026. #ad

A USB-powered DAC and headphone amp with balanced output, aimed at a desk where one cable is the whole install.

7.0/10
measured specs
8/10
inputs
4/10
value for money
7/10
build quality
8/10
features
8/10
Published specifications for the iFi ZEN DAC 3, each linked to the manufacturer document we read it from.
SpecificationPublished valueSource
DAC chipBurr Brown (iFi does not publish the part number)iFi spec page
Max sample ratePCM 32-bit/768 kHz, DSD512iFi spec page
InputsUSB-C onlyiFi spec page
OutputsHeadphone: 4.4 mm balanced, 6.35 mm SE. Line: 4.4 mm balanced, RCAiFi spec page
Headphone powerBalanced 4.4 mm: > 390 mW at 64 Ω; SE 6.35 mm: > 210 mW at 32 Ω, > 18 mW at 600 ΩiFi spec page
Dynamic rangeLine ≥ 113 dB(A); headphone ≥ 109 dB(A)iFi spec page
Output voltageNot published
Preamp modeYes — variable/fixed output switchiFi spec page

Pros

  • Runs from USB power alone
  • Balanced 4.4mm output
  • Fixed or variable output for use as a preamp

Cons

  • USB input only — no optical or coaxial
  • Curved case does not stack
  • Above the price of better-measuring rivals

Skip it if you need optical or coaxial in — this is USB only.

Frequently asked questions

What is an all-in-one DAC, preamp and headphone amp?
One chassis doing three jobs: converting digital audio to analog, selecting between sources and setting the level going to a power amplifier or active speakers, and driving headphones. The DAC part is solved on every current product; the preamp part is where they differ. The test is whether the manufacturer states that the line output level is variable — a volume knob that only affects the headphone jack does not make a box a preamp.
Can a DAC replace my preamp?
Only if its line output is variable and it makes enough voltage for your power amplifier. On this page the published output levels run from 2.1 V rms to 5 V rms, a spread of about 7.5 dB, and Cambridge is the only maker that states fixed-or-variable selection directly in its specification table. Also check inputs: three of the six boxes here have no analog input at all, so a turntable or a CD player has nowhere to connect.
Do I need balanced XLR outputs?
Only if your amplifier has balanced inputs or your cable run is long enough for common-mode noise to matter. Balanced outputs on both boxes that have them are exactly 6 dB hotter than their RCA outputs — 5 V against 2.5 V on the FiiO K9 Pro ESS, 4.2 V against 2.1 V on the Cambridge DacMagic 200M — which is why unmatched XLR-versus-RCA comparisons nearly always favor XLR. That difference is loudness, not quality.
Is one box worse than separate DAC, preamp and headphone amp?
Not on any published measurement in this price range. The real trade-offs are the upgrade path, since you replace all three functions at once, and gain structure — a single volume control has to suit both a sensitive in-ear and a power amplifier, which is why every unit here publishes switchable gain. The practical argument for one box is fewer interconnects and one less power supply, not measured superiority.
Which of these can a turntable connect to?
The WiiM Ultra directly, because it has a phono input — though WiiM publishes no gain, RIAA accuracy or input capacitance for it. The FiiO K9 Pro ESS and the FiiO K7 both take a turntable through a separate phono stage, using their RCA line inputs. The Cambridge DacMagic 200M, the FiiO K11 R2R and the iFi ZEN DAC 3 have no analog input, so no turntable can connect to them by any route.

Sources

Every specification on this page was read from one of these documents. If one of them has changed, or we have made an error, tell us — corrections are logged and dated per our editorial policy.