Skip to content
VALVE&VINYL

The Best Compact Desktop DAC and Amp Combos

A desk is a fixed amount of space, and these boxes occupy between 9.6 and 31.3 square inches of it. Here is what each extra square inch buys — and where the smallest box stops publishing.

By Stephen V.Published Last verified
A small desktop DAC and headphone amplifier beside a keyboard, its volume knob lit

Disclosure: we earn a commission if you buy through the links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It does not influence what we pick — our criteria are published and reproducible, so you can check our work. How we pick · Full disclosure

These picks are spec-and-price analyses, not listening tests. We have not heard this gear and we do not pretend to have: every figure below is sourced to the manufacturer and linked, and every price is live or not shown at all. Here are the rules we followed.

Quick picks

Ranked on the published criteria in How We Pick. Prices are live as of September 3, 2026. Tap any row for the full write-up.

On a desk, the specification that decides the purchase is the one nobody ranks on: how much of the desk it takes. Every box here converts digital to analog past the point of audibility and drives a normal pair of headphones to painful levels. What separates them, in the place they actually live, is area, height, and whether there is a brick on the floor.

Two sister pages rank this same hardware on the questions they are better at. Our DAC and amp combos page ranks on published milliwatts into 32 and 300 ohms, which is the right axis if headphones are the whole point. And our all-in-one DAC, preamp and headphone amp roundup ranks on inputs and output voltage, which is the right axis if the box has to be the system’s volume control. This page is for the reader whose constraint is a desk with a monitor stand, a keyboard and about a hand’s width of clear surface left.

The measurement nobody publishes and everybody needs

Manufacturers publish dimensions. Nobody multiplies them. Here is the desk area of each box, from each maker’s own figures:

Desk area, from published dimensions

Area = width × depth; in² = mm² ÷ 645.16

Inputs

Result

Fosi SK02: 121 × 51 = 6,171 mm² = 9.6 in²

iFi ZEN DAC 3: 158 × 115 = 18,170 mm² = 28.2 in²

FiiO K11 / K11 R2R: 147 × 133 = 19,551 mm² = 30.3 in²

FiiO K7: 120 × 168 = 20,160 mm² = 31.3 in²

20,160 ÷ 6,171 = 3.27. The K7 occupies three and a quarter SK02s of desk. The other four are all within 3.1 square inches of each other — the field is not a gradient, it is one small box and a cluster.

Footprint is not the installation. The FiiO K11, K11 R2R and K7 all take DC 12 V / 2 A from an external supply, so each one also claims a wall socket and puts a brick somewhere. The SK02 runs on 5 V over the USB-C cable that already carries its audio, and the ZEN DAC 3 runs on USB-C or an optional 5 V / 0.5 A supply. If the desk is tight because the cable management is bad rather than because the surface is small, that difference matters more than the square inches do.

What sits on the desk, in full

UnitDesk areaHeightWeightPower
Fosi Audio SK029.6 in²43 mm380 g5 V, USB-C bus power
iFi ZEN DAC 328.2 in²35 mm456 gUSB-C, or 5 V / 0.5 A
FiiO K1130.3 in²32.3 mm407 gDC 12 V / 2 A
FiiO K11 R2R30.3 in²32.3 mm420 gDC 12 V / 2 A
FiiO K731.3 in²55 mm610 gDC 12 V / 2 A

Note the height column, because it is the one that decides whether a box fits under a monitor arm or on a shelf. The K7 is 55 mm tall — 70% taller than the K11 at 32.3 mm — and it is the only unit here whose height is likely to be the constraint rather than its area.

The power budget is why the small boxes are small

This is the mechanism behind every trade-off on the page, and it is arithmetic rather than opinion. A bus-powered box gets whatever the USB port will give it. iFi publishes the ZEN DAC 3’s consumption as about 0.5 W with no signal and about 2.5 W at maximum, and its optional supply as 5 V / 0.5 A — a 2.5 W ceiling either way. The three FiiO boxes each take a 12 V / 2 A supply, which is a 24 W budget: roughly ten times as much.

That is the whole story of the headphone power column. The K7 publishes ≥ 2,000 mW into 32 Ω balanced; the ZEN DAC 3 publishes > 300 mW into the same load. Neither engineering team is better than the other — one of them has ten times the power to work with and a socket on the wall to get it from.

UnitBalanced into 32 ΩSingle-ended into 32 ΩInto 300 ΩDistortion condition stated?
FiiO K7≥ 2,000 mW≥ 1,220 mW≥ 560 mW balanced, ≥ 140 mW SEYes — THD+N < 1%
FiiO K11≥ 1,400 mW≥ 520 mW≥ 250 mW balanced, ≥ 60 mW SEYes — THD+N < 1%
FiiO K11 R2R≥ 1,300 mW≥ 460 mW≥ 220 mW balanced, ≥ 50 mW SEYes — THD+N < 1%
Fosi SK02755 mW190 mWNot publishedNo
iFi ZEN DAC 3> 300 mW> 210 mW> 70 mW balanced at 600 Ω, > 18 mW SE at 600 ΩNot stated

One clarification on the R2R row: FiiO publishes separate figures for its OS and NOS oversampling modes, and the numbers above are the OS-mode ones. The 300 Ω column for the iFi is its published 600 Ω figure, because 600 Ω is the high impedance iFi chose to publish and we are not going to interpolate a number the maker did not print.

Two things worth saying out loud about that table. First, the smallest box is not the weakest one: the SK02 publishes more balanced power than the ZEN DAC 3 from a third of the area. Second, the last column is not decoration — a power figure with no distortion condition attached could have been measured anywhere on the curve, and only FiiO tells you where.

Where the smallest box stops publishing

The SK02 is the interesting product on this page and the one that needs the most honesty. It is sold as a “DAC Headphone Amplifier & Preamp”. Fosi’s own specification table publishes no line output level and no statement that the line output is variable — the two figures that would make the word “preamp” mean something. It also shares that line output with the optical output on a single 3.5 mm socket, so you get one or the other.

And its power figures carry no distortion condition, which is worth working through, because the number implies something Fosi does not mention:

The voltage behind a 755 mW balanced claim on a 5 V rail

V = √(P × R); per-phase peak-to-peak = (V ÷ 2) × 2√2

Inputs

Result

√(0.755 × 32) = 4.92 V rms across the load, which is 2.46 V rms per phase, or 6.96 V peak-to-peak per phase.

√(0.300 × 32) = 3.10 V rms, which is 4.38 V peak-to-peak per phase — inside what a 5 V rail can swing.

So the SK02’s published figure requires more voltage than its 5 V USB supply can produce directly. There is a voltage step-up inside the box, and Fosi does not mention one anywhere in its specification.

This is not us calling the number false. Bus-powered balanced amplifiers commonly carry a boost converter or charge pump, and iFi effectively confirms one on the ZEN DAC 3 by quoting 6.2 V at its 4.4 mm output — a figure that also cannot come straight off a 5 V rail. The point is narrower and it is about disclosure: iFi publishes the voltage, FiiO publishes a distortion condition on every power figure it prints, and Fosi publishes neither. When two products disagree and only one shows its conditions, the one showing conditions is the one you can check.

Inputs: the other thing that shrinks

Small boxes lose sockets before they lose watts. This is the table to read if the DAC has to serve a computer and a television, or feed an amplifier as well as headphones.

UnitInputsLine outputPublished line level
FiiO K11USB-C, coaxial, opticalRCA, with LO/PO switching1.95 V rms
FiiO K11 R2RUSB-C, coaxial, opticalRCA, with PO / PRE / LO modes2.7 V rms
FiiO K7USB-B, RCA line in, coaxial, opticalRCA, with a pure DAC mode≥ 2 V rms
iFi ZEN DAC 3USB-C onlyRCA and 4.4 mm, fixed/variable switchNot published
Fosi SK02USB-C, optical3.5 mm, shared with optical outNot published

The K7 is the only box on this page with an analog input, which is what lets it amplify a phono stage or a CD player rather than only a computer. That capability, plus its 12 V supply, is most of what the 21.7 square inches it adds over the SK02 and the 22.7 mm of height it adds over a K11 are for. Our DAC versus preamp versus integrated amplifier explainer covers what an analog input changes about the shape of a system.

The R2R variant, on this page’s terms

The K11 R2R is the same chassis as the K11 — identical 147 × 133 × 32.3 mm, 13 grams heavier — with a discrete resistor-ladder converter instead of a delta-sigma chip. On the axis this page ranks by it is a tie with the K11, so the decision comes down to what is inside: it publishes a higher line output at 2.7 V rms and a genuine three-mode PO / PRE / LO switch, and it publishes THD+N of “About 0.025%” against the K11’s 0.00035% at the line output. That is roughly seventy times the distortion, in FiiO’s own numbers, and the word “About” is FiiO’s too.

We have not listened to either and will not tell you which sounds better. What we will say is that on this page the R2R costs you nothing in space and costs you measured transparency, deliberately, and you should choose it knowing that rather than discovering it.

How we would choose

If the desk has room for a 30 in² box, the FiiO K11. It is the most capable thing on this page per square inch: three inputs including optical for a television, ≥ 1,400 mW into 32 Ω balanced with a stated distortion condition, a published 1.95 V line output and LO/PO switching. Nothing here smaller does all four.

If the desk genuinely has no room, the Fosi SK02, with its two blank spec rows understood. At 9.6 in² and one cable it is the only product here that solves a truly full desk, and it publishes more balanced power than the iFi box that occupies nearly two and a half times its volume. Buy it as a headphone amplifier that happens to have a line socket, not as a preamp.

If one cable is the entire installationand you want the line output specified as switchable, the iFi ZEN DAC 3 — but check that USB is your only source, because it has no optical input and no coaxial input at all.

If you want the ladder DAC, the K11 R2R, at the same footprint and the published distortion penalty above.

If “compact” only means “not a rack component”, the FiiO K7 — the analog input, the pure DAC mode and ≥ 2,000 mW balanced are worth the 55 mm of height if you have it. Work out what your own headphones need first, because on a sensitive in-ear the K7’s extra power is a liability rather than a feature.

Every pick in detail

Every specification below links to the manufacturer document we read it from. Where a manufacturer does not publish a figure, we say so rather than estimating it.

1.

FiiO K11

Best budget DAC and amp
FiiO K11
$142.99View on Amazon

Price as of September 3, 2026. #ad

The K7's cheaper relative — less headphone power, the same basic idea, at a price that undercuts most DAC-only boxes.

7.8/10
measured specs
8/10
inputs
7/10
value for money
10/10
build quality
6/10
features
8/10
Published specifications for the FiiO K11, each linked to the manufacturer document we read it from.
SpecificationPublished valueSource
ChipsetDAC: CS43198; USB: SA9312L; amp: 2 × SGM8262-2FiiO parameters page
Max sample rateUSB: 384 kHz/32-bit, DSD256 native; coaxial: 192 kHz/24-bit; optical: 96 kHz/24-bitFiiO parameters page
Headphone power6.35 mm: ≥ 520 mW + 520 mW (32 Ω), ≥ 60 mW + 60 mW (300 Ω). 4.4 mm balanced: ≥ 1,400 mW + 1,400 mW (32 Ω), ≥ 250 mW + 250 mW (300 Ω). All at THD+N < 1%FiiO parameters page
Signal-to-noiseLine out ≥ 126 dB (A-weighted)FiiO parameters page
Output level1.95 V RMS (line out)FiiO parameters page
Preamp modeYes — LO/PO switching, each remembering its own volumeFiiO product page

Pros

  • DAC and headphone amp for less than most DAC-only boxes
  • Balanced output at the price
  • Compact

Cons

  • Less headphone power than the K7
  • Plastic-heavy build
  • Fewer inputs

Skip it if you drive demanding high-impedance headphones — step up to the K7.

2.

Fosi Audio SK02

Smallest desk footprint
Fosi Audio SK02
$99.99View on Amazon

Price as of September 3, 2026. #ad

A third of the desk area of any other DAC and headphone amp here, running entirely from the USB cable that carries its audio — with a specification sheet that leaves two important boxes empty.

7.0/10
measured specs
6/10
inputs
5/10
value for money
9/10
build quality
6/10
features
7/10
Published specifications for the Fosi Audio SK02, each linked to the manufacturer document we read it from.
SpecificationPublished valueSource
DAC chipES9038Q2MFosi Audio spec table
Max sample rateUSB: 32-bit/384 kHz, DSD256; optical: 24-bit/192 kHzFosi Audio spec table
InputsUSB-C, opticalFosi Audio spec table
Outputs3.5 mm headphone, 4.4 mm balanced headphone, and one 3.5 mm socket shared between line out and optical outFosi Audio spec table
Headphone power3.5 mm: 190 mW at 32 Ω. 4.4 mm: 755 mW at 32 Ω. Fosi states no distortion condition for either figureFosi Audio spec table
Headphone impedance match16–300 ΩFosi Audio spec table
THD≤ 0.001% at 1 kHz (Fosi does not state the output level it was measured at)Fosi Audio spec table
Signal-to-noise3.5 mm: 116 dB low gain, 120 dB high gain. 4.4 mm: 110 dB low gain, 115 dB high gainFosi Audio spec table
Frequency range20 Hz–20 kHz (±0.02 dB)Fosi Audio spec table
Dimensions121 × 51 × 43 mm (4.76 × 2 × 1.69 in)Fosi Audio spec table
Weight380 g (0.84 lb)Fosi Audio spec table
Power supply5 V over USB Type-C — no separate supply, and no current figure publishedFosi Audio spec table
Line output levelNot published
Line output fixed or variableNot published

Pros

  • 121 × 51 mm on the desk — under a third of the footprint of a FiiO K11 or an iFi ZEN DAC 3
  • Runs from USB-C bus power alone, so the installation is one cable and there is no brick under the desk
  • A 4.4 mm balanced headphone output at a price where balanced is usually absent
  • Published SNR at both gain settings on both outputs, which is more than most makers bother with

Cons

  • Fosi publishes no distortion condition with either power figure, so 755 mW at 32 Ω cannot be compared like-for-like with FiiO's figures at THD+N < 1%
  • The product listing calls it a preamp, but Fosi's specification publishes no line output level and does not state whether that output is fixed or variable
  • Line out and optical out share one 3.5 mm socket, so a fixed feed to an amplifier and a digital feed onward are mutually exclusive
  • USB and optical only — no coaxial, and no analog input of any kind

Skip it if you need to know exactly what the line output does. On published data, this is a headphone box that has a line socket, not a preamp.

3.

iFi ZEN DAC 3

Best USB-powered option
iFi ZEN DAC 3
$229.00View on Amazon

Price as of September 3, 2026. #ad

A USB-powered DAC and headphone amp with balanced output, aimed at a desk where one cable is the whole install.

7.0/10
measured specs
8/10
inputs
4/10
value for money
7/10
build quality
8/10
features
8/10
Published specifications for the iFi ZEN DAC 3, each linked to the manufacturer document we read it from.
SpecificationPublished valueSource
DAC chipBurr Brown (iFi does not publish the part number)iFi spec page
Max sample ratePCM 32-bit/768 kHz, DSD512iFi spec page
InputsUSB-C onlyiFi spec page
OutputsHeadphone: 4.4 mm balanced, 6.35 mm SE. Line: 4.4 mm balanced, RCAiFi spec page
Headphone powerBalanced 4.4 mm: > 390 mW at 64 Ω; SE 6.35 mm: > 210 mW at 32 Ω, > 18 mW at 600 ΩiFi spec page
Dynamic rangeLine ≥ 113 dB(A); headphone ≥ 109 dB(A)iFi spec page
Output voltageNot published
Preamp modeYes — variable/fixed output switchiFi spec page

Pros

  • Runs from USB power alone
  • Balanced 4.4mm output
  • Fixed or variable output for use as a preamp

Cons

  • USB input only — no optical or coaxial
  • Curved case does not stack
  • Above the price of better-measuring rivals

Skip it if you need optical or coaxial in — this is USB only.

4.

FiiO K11 R2R

Cheapest with a real preamp mode
FiiO K11 R2R
$175.99View on Amazon

Price as of September 3, 2026. #ad

A discrete ladder DAC with a genuine PRE mode at the bottom of the price range — and published distortion roughly fifty times higher than the delta-sigma boxes beside it.

7.4/10
measured specs
6/10
inputs
6/10
value for money
9/10
build quality
7/10
features
8/10
Published specifications for the FiiO K11 R2R, each linked to the manufacturer document we read it from.
SpecificationPublished valueSource
ChipsetFiiO-developed discrete R2R ladder DAC; SoC: GD32F303RE; USB: SA9312L; amp: 2 × SGM8262-2FiiO parameters page
R2R arrayFour-channel fully differential 24-bit ladder — two 48-resistor thin-film arrays per channel, 192 resistors at 0.1% tolerance and 30 ppm temperature driftFiiO product page
InputsUSB Type-C, optical, coaxialFiiO parameters page
OutputsHeadphone 6.35 mm and 4.4 mm balanced; RCA line out; coaxial out (USB mode only)FiiO parameters page
Max sample rate384 kHz/32-bit, DSD256 over USBFiiO parameters page
Headphone power6.35 mm (OS mode): ≥ 660 mW (16 Ω), ≥ 460 mW (32 Ω), ≥ 50 mW (300 Ω). 4.4 mm balanced (OS): ≥ 520 mW (16 Ω), ≥ 1,300 mW (32 Ω), ≥ 220 mW (300 Ω). All at THD+N < 1%FiiO parameters page
Line output level2.7 VrmsFiiO parameters page
Output modesPO / PRE (LO SE) / LO, switched by double-pressing the knob; each mode remembers its own volume settingFiiO product page
THD+N“About 0.025% (1kHz/0dB@10KΩ)” on the RCA line out in OS mode — FiiO's own wording, including the word “About”FiiO parameters page
Signal-to-noise≥ 115 dB (A-weighted), RCA line out in OS modeFiiO parameters page
GainThree gain levels with three independent volume curvesFiiO product page

Pros

  • PO / PRE / LO switching by double-pressing the knob, each mode remembering its own volume
  • 2.7 Vrms line output — more voltage than the DacMagic 200M's unbalanced 2.1 V
  • Headphone power published at 16, 32 and 300 Ω on both outputs, with a THD+N condition
  • A discrete 192-resistor R2R ladder at a price where discrete anything is unusual

Cons

  • FiiO publishes THD+N of “About 0.025%” — around fifty times the figure of the delta-sigma DACs on this page, and the word “About” is theirs
  • No analog input, so it cannot take a phono stage or a CD player
  • No balanced line output — the 4.4 mm socket is a headphone output, not a pre-out
  • Line-out SNR of ≥ 115 dB is the lowest published figure here

Skip it if you want the lowest distortion your money can buy. On published numbers a delta-sigma converter wins by a wide margin, and this one costs you that on purpose.

5.

FiiO K7

Best DAC and headphone amp combo
FiiO K7
$219.99View on Amazon

Price as of September 3, 2026. #ad

A DAC with a genuinely powerful balanced headphone amplifier attached, which is the reason to choose it over a DAC-only box.

8.8/10
measured specs
9/10
inputs
8/10
value for money
9/10
build quality
9/10
features
9/10
Published specifications for the FiiO K7, each linked to the manufacturer document we read it from.
SpecificationPublished valueSource
ChipsetDAC: 2 × AK4493S; USB: XMOS XUF208; amp: 2 × THX AAA 788+FiiO parameters page
Max sample rateUSB: PCM 384 kHz/32-bit, DSD256; coaxial: 192 kHz/24-bit; optical: 96 kHz/24-bitFiiO parameters page
InputsUSB-B, line in (RCA), optical, coaxialFiiO parameters page
OutputsLine out (RCA), 4.4 mm balanced headphone, 6.35 mm single-ended headphoneFiiO parameters page
Headphone power6.35 mm: ≥ 1,220 mW + 1,220 mW (32 Ω); ≥ 140 mW + 140 mW (300 Ω). 4.4 mm balanced: ≥ 2,000 mW + 2,000 mW (32 Ω). All at THD+N < 1%FiiO parameters page
THD+NLine out: < 0.0005% (1 kHz/10 kΩ)FiiO parameters page
Signal-to-noiseLine out ≥ 116 dB (A-weighted)FiiO parameters page
Output modesSwitchable between headphone, speaker (preamp) and pure DACFiiO product page

Pros

  • Powerful balanced headphone output, not a token one
  • Gain switching for sensitive and demanding headphones
  • Line out for a separate amplifier

Cons

  • Larger than a DAC-only box
  • You pay for the headphone amp whether you use it or not
  • External power brick

Skip it if you never use headphones — the Modi 5 or E30 II is cheaper and smaller.

Frequently asked questions

What is the most compact desktop DAC and headphone amp?
On published dimensions, the Fosi Audio SK02: 121 x 51 x 43 mm, which is 9.6 square inches of desk. The next smallest here is the iFi ZEN DAC 3 at 158 x 115 mm, or 28.2 square inches, and the FiiO K11 and K7 are 30.3 and 31.3 square inches. In other words there is one genuinely small box and then a cluster of similar ones, rather than a smooth range of sizes.
Is a USB-powered DAC amp powerful enough?
It depends on your headphones, and the ceiling is arithmetic rather than opinion. iFi publishes the ZEN DAC 3's maximum consumption as about 2.5 W and its optional supply as 5 V / 0.5 A; the FiiO K11, K11 R2R and K7 each take 12 V / 2 A, a 24 W budget. That roughly tenfold difference is why the K7 publishes 2,000 mW into 32 ohms balanced and the ZEN DAC 3 publishes more than 300 mW. For efficient headphones and in-ears, bus power is ample; for a 300-ohm open-back, it usually is not.
Can a compact DAC amp also work as a preamp?
Only if the maker states that the line output level is variable. The FiiO K11 has LO/PO switching and publishes 1.95 V rms, the K11 R2R has PO/PRE/LO modes and publishes 2.7 V rms, the K7 has a pure DAC mode and publishes at least 2 V rms, and the iFi ZEN DAC 3 has a fixed/variable switch but publishes no output voltage. The Fosi SK02 is sold as a preamp but publishes neither a line output level nor a fixed-or-variable statement, so on published data we cannot recommend it for that job.
Does a smaller DAC amp mean less headphone power?
Not reliably. The Fosi SK02 occupies about a third of the desk area of the iFi ZEN DAC 3 and publishes 755 mW into 32 ohms balanced against the ZEN's more than 300 mW. What size does predict is the power supply: every box here above 28 square inches runs from a 12 V brick, and both of the bus-powered ones are limited to what a USB port will hand over. Note too that Fosi attaches no distortion condition to its figures while FiiO states THD+N under 1% on all of theirs, so the two sets of numbers are not strictly comparable.
Which compact DAC amp has an optical input for a TV?
The FiiO K11, the FiiO K11 R2R and the FiiO K7 all have optical and coaxial inputs, and the Fosi SK02 has optical. The iFi ZEN DAC 3 has USB-C only, so a television cannot connect to it by any route. If the box has to serve both a computer and a TV, that single specification eliminates one of the five products here outright.
How much desk space does a DAC and headphone amp need?
Between 9.6 and 31.3 square inches for the products on this page, plus a power brick for three of the five. Height matters as much as area if the box lives under a monitor arm or on a shelf: the FiiO K11 and K11 R2R are 32.3 mm tall, the ZEN DAC 3 is 35 mm, the SK02 is 43 mm and the K7 is 55 mm.

Sources

Every specification on this page was read from one of these documents. If one of them has changed, or we have made an error, tell us — corrections are logged and dated per our editorial policy.